Skip to main content

No Internet Connection

You are connected to internet. Make sure Wi - Fi is on, Airplane Mode is off and try Again.

About Me

Hello, I am Dr. Swati Varma and am a Licensed Clinical Psychologist based in Oakbrook. I’m excited to learn more about you! I strive to create a fun, hopeful, and safe environment. I strongly value the therapeutic relationship with each individual. I will help you advocate for yourself, and provide you with insight and tools to manage stressful life events.

My clinical expertise is working with children and adolescents in a variety of settings including schools, in the home, and in outpatient settings.  I also work with young to middle aged adults.  I adopt a relational approach with individuals to better understand the impact of societal factors on your daily life. With regards to family therapy and parenting support, I will help you navigate complex family interactions and help you best find your role in each system.

Though I have training in a wide array of clinical issues, I specialize in anxiety, depression, trauma, ADHD, bipolar disorder, behavioral concerns, and school refusal. I have worked in a private therapeutic day school setting for many years, which has allowed me to write and understand goals for Individualized Education Plans (IEPs). I work extensively with families and school districts to advocate for children’s needs. Both my research and clinical background also include a strong focus on PTSD and complex trauma.

Recently, I have embarked on my own journey of parenthood. This inspired me to begin working more closely with mothers, fathers, and other caretakers who are experiencing this complicated life transition. I am certified in perinatal mental health (mood disorders during and post pregnancy).

In addition, I value a strong cultural approach to my work. I believe that you are the expert of your family and environment and I strive to educate myself and learn about you from your cultural lens. While English is my primary language, I am fluent in both Hindi and Punjabi.

In my spare time, I enjoy traveling, spending time with family and friends, and reading!